Dear Youngest Son,

accessory buttons console control
Photo by Pixabay on Pexels.com

It is now 9:00 p.m. on a Thursday night.  I know exactly how this night will play out in the coming hours.  You will communicate with your numerous friends until the early morning, I’m thinking 3:00 a.m. sounds about right.  No un-welcomed school wake-ups for at least two more weeks.  Quarantine has fullye rocked our schedule to the point of non-existence, says the mother still wearing pajama pants.

You will talk, text, and game with your vast social circle.  

Throughout all of the stay at home orders- I have been surprised many times by you.  You have not allowed this social distancing of sorts to make you socially distant.  You have found more ways than one to reach out to your friends and even cousins.  You call and check on each one, making them feel special.  You, who speaks to adults in two word muted phrases, does no such thing with your friends.  You speak clearly in complete sentences with far more than two words.  You offer advice while also complimenting them.  You have a sense of humor beyond compare, and your audible laughter is heard, even through a closed door.  You have a soft heart and I know you would do anything for anyone. . .

Even your brother, who is not always kind to you.

You see, Son, you are all of the parts your older brother isn’t.  You two could not be more different.  Your appearances.  Your interests.  Your personalities.  Your tastes.  The two of you are essentially complete opposites.  He has a small group of close friends.  You have many.  He is quiet and subdued.  You make your entrance known.  He likes working within a team.  You don’t mind being the center of attention.  He wears tailored solid colored clothing, drawing no attention to himself.  You pick the loudest, most colorful, and patterned shirts available.  He stresses himself regarding just about everything.  You stress yourself about nothing.  He eats pasta, pasta, and more pasta.  You eat meat, meat, and more meat.  He is tall and slender.  You are taller and husky.

I love you both- equally.

I love that you are both so very different.  I love that you together, complete a puzzle with all of the parts.  I love that I have two boys who continually show me the very best parts of life on full display.  My hope is that you learn to embrace your unique qualities.  I hope that you both acknowledge what makes you different, makes you special.  The parts of you, unlike anyone else, are the very parts that people will remember.  But, they are also the parts that will make you self-conscious in the near future, where no one likes to stand out.  My hope for you is that you will never doubt yourself or your brother’s love for you- even though he sometimes has a funny way of showing it.

You are a team- forever more.

I knew when I entered this parenting gig, I never wanted an only child.  I grew up with an older brother, so I wanted the same for you.  My older brother, your uncle, paved the way for me by doing everything first.  He made it a little less scary when it was my turn.  He was always kind to me and he could do no wrong in my book.  I relished in his accomplishments, almost as proud as if I had earned them myself.  I attended more soccer games than any younger sister ever should, but I went willingly.  He was in his element, and I was proud to witness it.  He continues to this day to be a supportive force; lending an ear when I need someone to talk to, offering much needed advice in times where I haven’t a clue and showing up at all those important life events- just his presence puts others at ease.

Son, family is important.

You are important.  Your brother is important.  And as you grow, my wish is that you find the importance in each other.  He is part of your built-in blood-born social circle.  He is the one you will depend on in the future.  He is the one that will offer the needed advice.  He is the one that will support you at life’s most important events.

Son, you are not alone.  Nor will you ever be, it was deliberate

Love- Mom

 

Leave a comment